Halal status of ethanol is classified based on its source and concentration. Ethanol produced by anaerobic fermentation is considered to be non-Halal. Ethanol less than 1% and produced by natural fermentation is considered as preserving agent and Halal.
Initially, alcohol is among the substances found in the wine (khamr). Alcohol (khamr) is an alcoholic beverage that is haram in Islam. In Surah Al-Maidah verse 90, testifies that Allah Almighty forbids Muslim to drink (khamr) because it is an abominable act and includes the act of the devil.