Celiac disease is a digestive problem that hurts your small intestine. It stops your body from taking in nutrients from food. You may have celiac disease if you are sensitive to gluten. If you have celiac disease and eat foods with gluten, your immune system starts to hurt your small intestine.
Alcohol is allowed in the celiac diet, as long as you choose the right types of alcohol. Beer and ale are usually made from barley, and are not safe for celiacs to drink. Wines, which are made from grapes, are safe for people with celiac disease. This includes fortified wines, like sherry and port.