Hefeweizen is a type of weiss beer—German for “white beer.” Hefeweizen itself translates to “yeast wheat” in German. Made up of >50% wheat, weiss beers are characterized by a strong presence of banana and clove, even vanilla or bubblegum, in the aroma and flavor.
But is it gluten-free? No, Modelo is not gluten-free. It is made with barley which contains gluten. While the beer has only 20 ppm of gluten, it should still be avoided.