In similar fashion, berliner weisse and gose sour beers have taken to the use of lactose as well. Pale Ales, Sours, Brown Ales, IPAs, Porters, Stouts, Lagers, Blonde, Wheat, Cream, and the list can go on and on.
So are sour beers vegan or dairy-free? “It depends,” says Richard Preiss, a yeast scientist and founder of Escarpment Labs in Guelph, which sells brewing yeast to craft breweries. “Latobacillus is vegan if it's bought from a lab because the bacterial culture is grown on malted barley.